Enyeama Makes African Player Of The Year Final Shortlist

The Confederation of African Football has released the top three shortlists for the 2014 African Player of the Year with Nigeria’s Vincent Enyeama, Cote d’Ivoire’s Yaya Toure and Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang making the final cut.

Twenty-five players were initially shortlisted some weeks ago before it was trimmed down to ten then later five through voting from members of the Technical & Development and the Media Committees.

The Head Coaches of the National Associations affiliated to CAF will vote in their order of preference to decide on who the best player in Africa is.

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), Algerian duo, Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belamieri are in contention with DR Congo forward Firmin Mubele Ndombe.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, 8 January, 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria.

The Final Shortlists

Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire , Manchester City)
Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria, LOSC Lille)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Borussia Dortmund)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Akram Djahnit (Algeria and ES Setif)
El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria and ES Setif)
Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Most Promising Talent
Clinton N’jie (Cameroon and Olympique Lyon)
Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Coach of the Year

Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)
Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)
Vahid Halilhodžić (Former coach of Algeria)

National Team of the Year

Club of the Year
Al Ahly (Egypt)
AS Vita (DR Congo)
ES Setif (Algeria)

Football Leader of the Year
Moise Katumbi Chapwe – President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo) 

African Legend award
Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964
Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964.

Pin It