Toure Beats Mikel To Win CAF Crown

*Yaya Toure of Manchester City (middle) tries to escape from two Arsenal players during a recent EPL match. Toure won the 2013 CAF Player of the Year Award in Lagos on Thursday, 9 January, 2014. –

Ivorian player, Yaya Toure Thursday night emerged the 2013 CAF African Footballer of the Year for the third time in a row, beating Nigerian star, John Obi Mikel, who was widely tipped to win the crown.
Toure, a Manchester City midfielder beat Mikel, who plays for Chelsea and his compatriot, Didier Drogba.
Toure, who won his third straight award, recorded the same feat achieved by Ghana’s Abedi Pele and Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon, who won the award four times.
Shortly after receiving his award at the Eko Hotels in Lagos, Toure said: “I’m honoured to have been adjudged the best player in Africa for the third time. I also salute John Obi Mikel for coming second in the 2013 edition of the award and my brother from Ivory Coast, Didier Drogba for coming third”.
The Chief Coach of Nigeria’s Super Eagles, Stephen Keshi emerged Coach of the Year at the awards ceremony, while the Nigerian U-17 Golden Eaglets won the Young Team of the Year award. The Nigerian Football and other Sports Supporters Club also won the Fair Play award.

Pin It