Sunshine Stars Win LBA First Quarter Award

Sunshine Stars have been named the winners of the League Bloggers Awards (LBA) Q1 after finishing the top of the Glo Premier League in the first quarter of this season.
The Owena Waves, after match day 10 in the Nigerian top flight amassed 20 points, two more than the chasing pack of Kano Pillars and Enyimba in second and third positions respectively.
Sunshine Stars won six matches, drew two and lost two while they
scored 14 goals, including five of the goals being netted by Tunde
Adeniji. They shipped in seven goals from the 10 games played.
The Akure club are yet to lose in their last five matches including a win at Heartland and a draw at Nasarawa United. Their last defeat was on match day five when they lost one-nil at El-Kanemi Warriors on April 22.
Sunshine Stars have also scored in every of their last five matches in the league.
“Sunshine Stars have been playing great football since the second half of the first quarter and it’s no surprise that they have emerged winner of Quarter One.
“Congrats to the Akin Akinbobola-led management, coaches Kennedy Boboye and Henry Abiodun, players as well as supporters, for this feat”, LBA CEO, Ojeikere Aikhoje said.
The Q-award started in 2013 and current Glo Premier League champions, Kano Pillars, won the maiden edition in the first quarter with 19 points.
Sharks were the winners of the same award last year after the first 10 matches with 18 points.
It is a quarterly award instituted by the LBA to honour winners of
each of the four quarters in the Glo Premier League. The second
quarter will run from match day 11 to 19.

Pin It