Sound Sultan, Atlantic Conference Shine AT DSTV All Stars Show

DSTV Basketball

L-R: Abayomi Oyeniyi captain of Atlantic Conference receiving the winning trophy from John Ugbe, MD, MultiChoice Nigeria; Tijani Umar, President of NBBF, Martin Mabutho, GM, Marketing of Multichoice, and Felix Awogu, GM of SuperSport during the All Stars Basketball tourney held at Unilag Sports Hall, Lagos to mark the 20th Anniversary of MultiChoice Nigeria.

Popular Nigerian Hip-hop sensation, Olanrewaju Fasasi a.k.a. Sound Sultan, was the cynosure of all eyes during the DSTV Basketball celebrity tournament held at the University of Lagos on Sunday.

The artist took home the Most Valuable Player, MVP Award at the one-day show despite playing for a losing side in the tournament.
The low-scoring game ended 17-16 in favour of Beat FM All Stars, as they pipped their counterparts from Channel O All Stars.
Other musicians who participated in the exhibition game include Dare Art Alade, MI, Ikechukwu, Skales, Praiz, Teebillz and Steve of JJC.
D’Tigers’ captain, Olumide Oyedeji also led the other A-List artistes to the basketball court alongside Beat FM’s OAP, Jimmie and Olisa Adibua.
After the celebrity game, the 3-Point Challenge took center stage, as Kada Stars’ 20-year old guard; Timothy Kwaor defeated veterans such as Lagos Islanders’ duo of Seyi Ayodele and Hillary Aigbhokaionde , Union Bank’s Obum Onya and Dodan Warriors’ Azuoma Dike, to take home the winner’s trophy.
In the last game of the day, a selected side of the Atlantic Conference led the game 27-25 points in the first quarter, but Savannah Conference responded strongly in the second quarter, outscoring them 33-17 to take a 58-44 lead into the half time break.
The third quarter however started on a rather high tempo with a host of 3-point shots from both sides. Union Bank’s Obum Onyia made three 3-pointers for the Atlantic Conference Stars, while Abubakar Usman claimed two back-to-back 3-pointers for the Savannah Conference Stars.

However, the Atlantic Conference Stars had the last say thanks to Dodan Warriors’ Guard, Azuoma Dike, who was fantastic as he led the Atlantic Conference Stars charge to a desperate surge to win the game in the final seconds.
Azuoma ended up with twenty points and six assists, and went home with the Most Valuable Player Award and a sum of N250,000 cash.
Twelve Players were selected from the Nigeria Basketball Premier League clubs to represent their conferences.
The Atlantic Conference had Union Bank’s Abayomi Oyeniyi, Moses Daudu and Obum Onya, the Lagos Islanders was represented by Hillary Aighokaionde, Kayode Balogun, Ibrahim Okpe and Seyi Ayodele, while Azuoma Dike and Oliver Joshua came from Dodan Warriors.
Femi Adekeye of Oluyole Warriors, Victor Anthony (Customs) and Royal Hoopers’ Center Solomon Ajegbeyi completed the team, coached by Royal Hoopers’ Ogoh Daudu.
League Champions, Kano Pillars had seven representatives including five players and the club’s coach, Sanni Mohammed led the Savannah Conference stars.
The players included Final Four MVP, Abubakar Usman, Onyeka Okeke, Dele Ademola, Mathew Onmonye and Shehu Mohammed. Four players from Mark Mentors Club also featured in the tourney. They are; Mike Ohiero, Abdulwahab Yahaya, Dennis Ebikoro, and Nigerian International Stanley Gumut. The others from Savannah Conference Squad are Kada Stars’ duo of Sadiq Adedeji and Timothy Kwaor with Chibuzor Njoku.

Pin It