Seb Coe Elected As New IAAF President

Two time Olympic 1500m champion British Seb Coe was on Wednesday, 19 August, 2015 elected president of the Athletics governing body IAAF, beating Ukrainian Sergey Bubka by 115 votes to 92 in Beijing, China.

Coe, 58, succeeds Senegalese Lamine Diack, 82 who retired and will now serve as a honorary President after 16 years.

“I am deeply honoured that our sport has placed its trust in me. There is no job I want to do more, nor with greater commitment. I thank Sergey for a thoroughly good campaign.

“The campaign was fought according to sound judgement of the sport. It is second biggest momentous occasion of my life. I would like to thank you for wise counsel and the generosity of your time,” said Coe soon after his election.

His term will begin at the end of the World championships on 31 August. The championships begin on Friday at the Birds Nest Stadium.

Coe who had been widely tipped to win the vote had earlier made his final push for the vote with a passionate plea to the 211 members present, whom he promised to provide a $200, 000 grant every four years.

“I am not asking to take power am asking to share power. If you give me the privilege of IAAF president this is a journey we will take together. After so many races run this may be my last race.
There is no job that I have ever wanted to do more than this.”

Bubka, the Olympic pole vault champion retained his Vice President post as he topped the race with 187 votes alongside Al Hamad Dahlan of Qatar 159, Malboum Kalkaba the Confederation of African President garnering 115 and Cuban Juantorena Danger Alberto 111.

“I know sport will grow stronger and stronger! I am a happy man, I will continue to serve athletics,” said Bubka as he congratulated Coe.

With 102 votes Spanish Jose Maria Odriozola was elected the new IAAF treasurer.

Six Female individual council members were elected they are Stephanie Hightower, Nawal El Moutawakel Anna Riccardi, Pauline Davis-Thompson, Abby Hoffman, Sylvia Barlag while Ahmad Al Kamali, Du Zhaocai, Frank Fredericks, Hiroshi Yokokawa, Antti Pihlakoski, Bernard Amsalem, Mikhail Butov, Adille Sumariwalla and Mohammed Bin Nawaf Al Saud were voted in as council members.

Pin It