President’s Cup Serves Off In Lagos

The maiden edition of the end-of-the-year Nigeria Table Tennis Federation, NTTF-organized top 16 Championship tagged President’s Cup serves off on Wednesday, 17 December at the Molade Okoya Thomas Hall of Teslim Balogun Stadium in Surulere, Lagos.

The N2m prize money, two-day tournament has players within and outside the country competing for top spot.

Over 48 matches will be played with foreign-based duo of Seun Ajetunmobi and Olaide Atinuke competing against local stars such as Rashidat Ogundele, Kazeem Makanjuola as well as junior sensations; Tosin Oribamise, Ajoke Ojomu, Alimot Ayinla and Onyinyechi Mbah featuring in the championship.

The matches will be played in a round robin format with the top two players progressing to the next stage of the championship. The top eight players will also be drawn into two groups of four each with the top two advancing to the semi final stage.

Every player listed for the competition will be rewarded with cash while the star prize is N250, 000. For the award, the player of the year as well as the young player of the year will be honoured at the colourful event in the presence of dignitaries.

As part of its efforts to inspire the players to aim higher, eight awards will be handed out to deserving individuals in 2014. These awards are senior player of the year (male and female), junior player of the year (male and female), cadet player of the year (male and female), coach of the year and technical official of the year.

Pin It