President Cup Must Discover Rookies, Says Danagogo

The Minister and Chairman, National Sports Commission, Dr. Tammy Danagogo  has charged the Committee on the President Cup to organize viable competitions with the aim of  scouting for young Nigerians to beef up the existing talents in the country.
Dr. Danagogo stated this in Abuja yesterday during the inauguration of the 17-man committee that has Mr. Alhassan Yakmut, a  Director in the National Sport Commission as its Chairman.
The Minister said that “what you are trying to do, matches with the vision of Mr. President.  It is sequel to the Summit which he organized with some of you here to improve the standard of sports in Nigeria.  One of the cardinal issues is to go to the grassroots to fish out budding talents and produce quality players as well as see how we can identify with private partnerships to galvanize sports development.”
The President Cup, which has former Super Eagles captain, Ambassador Nwankwo Kanu as the Chairman of its board of Trustees, he said, is for the age grade of 16 to 19 years old and is expected to commence in the 774 Local Government Areas, graduating to states and zonal levels and the final would be in Abuja.
He stressed that the mandate was of very crucial nature that will transform sports and when fully harnessed will enhance the discovery of young talents who will mature to national stardom.
He urged them to adopt the very best international best practices in scouting for young talents, stressing that if the target is achieved, posterity will remember them.
Earlier, the Director-General of National Sports Commission, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye said that this development was informed by the seemingly dwindling performance and the prevalence of limited upcoming talents at various stages of the various national teams.
“It is therefore timely to look at the grassroots for early and qualitative replacements of the aging and tired legs,” he added.
In his acceptance speech, the Chairman of the Committee,  Mallam Alhassan Yakmut assured the Minister that the committee will deliver the task before it.
The 17-man committee has Alhassan Yakmut as Chairman  and Barr. Paul Olobo Abraham as Secretary.

Pin It