Pinnick Emerges Nigeria FA President

Delta State Football Association Chairman Amaju Pinnick has been elected the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, following the withdrawal of top contestant, Shehu Dikko.
Pinnick won 32 votes of the 44-man congress after a re-run because he did not have the required two-third votes.
Former NFF general secretary Taiwo Ogunjobi had only four votes with ex-international Dominic Iorfa getting eight votes in the re-run.
Pinnick succeeds Aminu Maigari and has a four-year term during which he is expected to improve on the finances of the often broke NFF.
But his immediate task is to decide on the future of Nigeria Coach Stephen Keshi, who has yet to be given a new contract after his initial deal ran out after the recent World Cup in Brazil.
Keshi handled the Super Eagles for two Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Congo and South Africa earlier this month.
The polls though were not without their controversy after the NFF Electoral Committee Chairman Samson Ebomhe was arrested by the State Security and later released to conduct the elections.
Front runner to emerge president Shehu Dikko withdrew from the polls and did not take part after the Electoral Committee Chairman announced a change in the guidelines inside the congress hall.
Also, there was no CAF or FIFA observer after the designated Ghana FA President Kwesi Nyantakyi was engaged back at home.
Lagos FA chairman Seyi Akinwunmi was elected first Vice-President, while Musa Gusau was unopposed as Chairman of Chairmen.
Akinwunmi got 30 votes, while Shehu Adamu got eight votes.
Immediate past boss of the Technical Committee of Nigeria Football Federation(NFF) Chris Green was re-elected to the board.
He was elected as the South South representative after pulling 26 votes to beat Oswald Otuke, who got 14 votes.
House of Representatives member Suleiman Yahaya Kwande from Plateau State was voted back to the board of the NFF as one of the representatives for the North Central.
Niger State’s Ahmed Yusuf “Fresh” also returned to serve as the other North Central representative.
Plateau United General Manager and former Super Eagles Coach Bitrus Bewarang lost to the duo.
Otunba Dele Ajayi emerged as South West sole representative on the new board of the Nigeria Football Federation as he defeated Leye Adepoju.
Adepoju from Oyo State was part of the immediate past board led by Aminu Maigari, but lost his seat to the Ondo State man Ajayi.
Kano FA chairman Rabiu Inuwa emerged as the North West representative on the board unopposed after others pulled out for him.
Hassan Modibo from Taraba and Kachala Gana from Borno will represent North East on the board after their success at the polls.
Enyimba chairman Felix Anyansi-Agwu was re-elected from the South East after he got 26 votes ahead of Okenwa Ofo (10 votes), Igbokwe Leonard (4 votes).

The New NFF executive committee

President: Amaju Pinnick

1st Vice-President: Seyi Akinwunmi

Chairman of Chairmen: Musa Ibrahim Gusau

South South: Chris Green

North Central: Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande, Ahmed Yusuf ‘Fresh’

South East: Felix Anyansi-Agwu

South West: Otunda Dele Ajayi

North West: Sharif Rabiu Inuwa

North East: Modibo Hassaini, Kachalla Baba Gana.

Pin It