P/Harcourt Rules 4th ARS National Female Finals

•Ilorin Beat Abuja To Win Male Trophy –

By Tunde Oyedele –

The female team from Port Harcourt again emerged winners of the girls category of the 4th edition of Airtel Rising Stars, ARS National U-17 football tournament.
Port Harcourt, that won the previous three editions of the female category, defeated Lagos 4-2 via penalty shootouts in the final played at the Yaba Tech Sports Complex on Saturday, 2 August, 2014. Both teams played a goalless draw at the end of regulation time, but goalkeeper Sharon Nwabueze won the game for the Garden City girls, as she stopped two kicks from Seun Akanda and Florence Alexander.
Rukayat Abdulsalami and Taibat scored their penalty kicks, but they were not enough to win for Lagos, as Uduak Monday, Damilola Adepeju, Juliet Imoh and Lydia Joshua perfectly tucked in their kicks for Port Harcourt.
Although, the final game was played on a water-logged pitch at Yaba Tech, players of both teams played a fantastic match to the delight of the spectators who witnessed the youth development initiative sponsored by Airtel.
Meanwhile, the final match between the male teams of Ilorin and Abuja was also played at the same venue, with Taiye Ayinde scoring the lone goal that won the cup for the Kwara State team.

Pin It