Oshiomhole Suspends 4 LG Chairmen

Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State has suspended four Local Government Chairmen for non-payment of staff salaries, diversion of funds among others.

The four chairmen are Hon Emmanuel Momoh of Etsako Central Local Government Area; Hon Victor Enobakhare (Egor Local Government Area); Hon Osaro Obazee (Oredo Local Government Area) and Hon Roland Ibierutomwen of Orhionmwon Local Government Area.

In a letter to the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Prof Julius Ihonvbere, said: “I am directed by the Governor of Edo State, Comrade Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole to inform you that in compliance with the relevant sections of the Local Government Act which mandates consultation with Edo State House of Assembly, the Governor wishes to inform Mr. Speaker and Members of the House that the under-listed Local Government Chairmen are hereby suspended from office with effect from today Tuesday 6 October, 2015.

The Chairmen are:-
1. Hon. Emmanuel Momoh
Chairman (Etsako Central Local Government Council)
2. Hon. Victor Enobakhare
Chairman (Egor Local Government Council)
3. Hon. Osaro Obazee
Chairman (Oredo Local Government Council)
4. Hon. Roland Ibierutomwen
Chairman (Orhionmwon Local Government Council)

“Their suspension which is for two months is to pave the way for unhindered investigation into several allegations against the Chairmen, which includes non-payment of staff salaries without satisfactory explanations, inability to account for Internally Generated Revenue, diversion of funds, failure to follow due process in the award of contracts as well as illegal employment of Senior Officers without going through Local Government Service Commission, which is a violation of laid-down provisions.

“In the meantime, during the period of suspension, relevant panels would be constituted to investigate the allegations against the affected Chairmen.

“The purpose of this letter, therefore, is to inform the Honourable Speaker and the House, of this development for record purpose.”

Pin It