Olympic Qualifier: Nigeria Basketball Team Off To France

The Nigeria Basketball Federation, NBBF has released the names of the 12 players, including two home-based players who made the final roster for the Women’s Olympic Qualification Tournament scheduled for Nantes, France from 12 June through 19 June, 2016.

The selected players led by captain, Helen Ogunjimi include Upe Atosu, Promise Amukamara, Sarah Ogoke, Ezinne Kalu and Joyce Ekworomadu.

Also on the list are Uju Ugoka, Adaora Elonu, Ndidi Madu, Elem Ibiam, Chioma Udeaja and Olayinka Sanni.

The technical crew is led by Scott Nnaji as head coach with Aderemi Adewunmi, assistant coach and Mauro Procaccini, technical adviser while Dr. Larai Garba is team doctor and Amara Enebe is the physiotherapist.

According to the secretary of NBBF, Patrick Okeke, the team departed for France Friday evening and are expected to play their first game on Sunday against Belarus and South Korea on Tuesday.

Two teams from each of the four groups will qualify for the quarter-finals with winners picking four of the five slots for the Rio Olympics.

The remaining slot will be up for grabs after classification among the quarter-final losers.

Pin It