Nigeria’s Falcons Crowned Women Team Of 2014

.As Toure Wins 4th CAF Player Of The Year Award –

The Super Falcons of Nigeria were crowned the Women’s National Team of the Year at the 2014 Glo-CAF Awards Gala held on Thursday, 8 January 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria.
Nigeria returned to the summit of women’s football on the continent by winning the ultimate at the African Women Championship in Namibia last October.
The Super Falcons lived up to their pre-tournament favourites’ tag by beating Cameroon 2-0 in the final for their seventh title in the history of the championship.
The African champions also maintained their unrivaled record of having qualified for every edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup since its inception in 1991.

Meanwhile, Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure was on Thursday, 8 January 2015 crowned African Player of the Year for the fourth time in a row.
The England-based midfielder achieved the historic feat of being the first player to be decorated African Player of the Year for four successive times at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala held in the Nigerian capital, Lagos.
Ex-Cameroon star, Samuel Eto’o is the other person to have won it four times, completing a hat-trick from 2003 to 2005 and later in 2010.
The Ivorian eased past Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama for the most prestigious individual honour in African football, decided by votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

Pin It