Ndanusa, Gumel Go To War

.As NOC Elections Hold In Asaba 19-20 Nov –


Orchid Hotels & Events Centre in Asaba, Delta State will be the battle ground come Wednesday and Thursday, 19-20 November, when two heavyweights; incumbent President, Engineer Sani Ndanusa and former President and IOC member, Habu Gumel go head-to-head in the Nigeria Olympic Committee, NOC Presidential Election.
The 2014 Annual General Meeting and the Elections into the Executive Committee of NOC offer Ndanusa and Gumel another opportunity to re- ignite their rivalry at the polls yet again.

The two Engineers battled for the soul of the Olympic body but it was Ndanusa that laughed last and guided the NOC to new heights in the last four years he was in charge.
Tony Ubani, the Public Relations Officer, PRO of NOC said in a Press Release on Sunday, that the Screening Committee, made up of Alhaji Ibrahim Galadima, Chief (Mrs Kofo Nwokedi and Major Gen. Adamu Dyeri approved 16 contestants to contest for the eight Executive positions of the NOC.
The battle for the Secretary General  is not different from that of the Presidency.
Incumbent scribe Hon Tunde Popoola and former scribe Olabanji Oladapo will also battle for the heart of the secretariat. Athletics Federation of Nigeria, AFN, President, Evangelist Solomon Ogba is sure of becoming the first Vice President as he would be elected unopposed.

Also, the position of second Vice President is sure to be filled by Mr Babatunde Fatayi Williams. Basketball Federation President,  Tijani Umar and Olayinka Badare will fight for the third Vice President’s slot.
Four candidates, Major General Johnny Hamakin (incumbent), Enefiok Udo-Obong (former Olympics gold medallist), George Ashiru (Taekwondo), and Dans Adokiye are sure to breathe down on each other for the position of Deputy Secretary General.
Hon Bappa Aliyu (Incumbent) and Prof Olatunde Makanju will square off for the Treasurer position.
The Public Relations position will be a straight fight between Tony Ubani (Incumbent) and Mrs Comfort Nwankwo.

Below are the Lists of candidates cleared for the NOC Elections:

1. Engr.  Sani M.  Ndanusa
2. Engr. Habu Gumel

1st Vice President
1. Chief Solomon Ogba

2nd Vice President
1. Mr. Babatunde Fatai Williams

3rd Vice President
1.    Mr Tijani Umar
2.  Olayinka Badare

Secretary General
1.    Hon. Tunde Popoola
2.    Mr Olabanji Oladapo

Deputy Secretary General
1.  Major General Johnny Hamakin
2.  Enefiok Udo-Obong
3.  George Ashiru
4.  Dans Adokiye

1.  Hon Bappa Aliyu
2. Prof  Olatunji Makanju

Public Relations Officer
1.  Tony Ubani
2. Mrs Comfort Nwankwo.

Pin It