Maigari Salutes Nigeria Pitch Awards Winners

President of Nigeria Football Federation, Alhaji Aminu Maigari has
congratulated the winners, as well as organisers of the inaugural
edition of Nigeria Pitch Awards, which took place at the Transcorp
Metropolitan Hotel, Calabar on Saturday, 16 November.
It would be recalled that the Executive Governor of Cross River State,
Senator Liyel Imoke, CON, won the Football-Friendly Governor of the
Year award, while Maigari, chairman of NFF Technical Committee,
Barrister Chris Green, NFF General Secretary, Barrister Musa Amadu,
President-General of the Nigeria Football Supporters Club, Dr. Rafiu
Oladipo and Nigeria’s FIFA Security Officer, ACP Gideon Akinsola were
presented with Special Achievement awards.
“The NFF is satisfied with the entire process leading to the Awards
Ceremony and the credibility of the whole thing is not in doubt. The
NFF supported the Pitch Awards because we believe it will help fire
the competitive spirit of our players at home and abroad.
“Awards are ample rewards for hard work, perseverance and a commitment
to excellence, and they spur further hard work and drive for glory.
For instance, the Referee of the Year award will encourage our referees, who have been declared to be improving by visiting FIFA delegates, to perform even better,” Maigari said.
The NFF President added: “I congratulate the organisers, Matchmakers
Consult International, for their foresight and doggedness. I believe
next year’s event will be even better.”
Meanwhile, chief executive of Matchmakers Consult International, organisers of the awards, Shina Philips, expressed gratitude to all
Nigerian journalists for their support for the Nigeria Pitch Awards.
“As organisers, we are overwhelmed by the support we got from
journalists who voted and who also helped publicise the awards. We are
promising a much better outing in the city of Lagos in 2014.”
At the awards, Super Eagles’ midfield pearl John Mikel Obi won the
King of Pitch while Perpetua Nkwocha, four-time African Woman Player
of the Year, was crowned Queen of Pitch.

Pin It