Japan, Six Other Countries Qualify For U-17 Women’s W/Cup

.Nigeria’s Flamingos Set To Pick Ticket –

Seven countries have qualified for the fifth edition of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup final competition, which will be staged in Jordan, 30th September – 21st October 2016. They are host Jordan, Japan, North Korea, Canada, USA, Mexico and New Zealand.

Meanwhile, Head Coach of the U-17 Women National Team, Flamingos, Bala Nikyu has said that his target is to get a good result in the return leg in South Africa, despite the 6-0 drubbing of Bantwana last Saturday at the Abuja National Stadium. Four goals from Captain Rasheedat Ajibade and two from Yetunde Fajobi gave the Flamingos a comfortable advantage heading into the final leg next weekend in South Africa.

“My girls will not rely on the massive win here in Nigeria. When we confront the South Africans in the return leg, we will try and replicate what we did against Namibia, whom we defeated 4-0 here in Abuja and 5-0 in Windhoek.

“We are also not underrating the Bantwana of South Africa as they will try to reduce the number of goals, but we will be ready for them”.

Nigeria has participated at all previous editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup final competitions from New Zealand 2008 to Trinidad and Tobago 2010, Azerbaijan 2012 and Costa Rica 2014. The Flamingos reached the quarter -finals in the last three editions but have promised to surpass this record in Jordan.

Pin It