Gov’s Cup: Doubles Finals Hold Friday

5The finals of the Doubles events of this year’s Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Open will hold on Friday, 25 October, 2013 at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Tafawa Balewa Sqaure, TBS, Lagos State, Nigeria. gathered from organisers of the ITF-approved international tournament that the final matches will commence from 14:00 hours, 2pm Nigerian time with the Women’s Doubles final featuring the pair of Fatma Al Nabhani (Oma) and Gioia Barbieri (Italy) against the pair of Conny Perrin of Switzerland and Chanel Simmonds from South Africa.
Immediately after the female final, the pair of Ante Pavic of  Croatia and Ruan Roelofse of South Africa will exchange strokes with the Croatian pair of Borna Coric and Dino Marcan in the Men’s Doubles final.
Also to be decided on Friday are the semi finals of both the Men’s and Women’s Singles. In the Men’s category, Ante Pavic will face Hiroki Kondo in the first match, while Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan of India will confront Andre Gaspar Murta of Portugal in the second semi final.
The Women’s first semi final is between Naomi Broady and Nina Bratchikova, while the second match holds same day.
It was gathered that the presentation of trophies for the Doubles winners will be done immediately after the matches at the Center Court of the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club.
Earlier in the quarter final matches, three upsets were recorded in both the Men and Women’s Singles. Number 8 seed, Andre Gaspar Murta of Portugal defeated Number 3 seed, Dino Marcan of Croatia in straight sets of 6-3, 6-2 in the Men’s Singles.
Also, Gioia Barbieri of Italy overpowered Slovakian, Dalila Jakupovic, first leg finalist 6-1, 6-0 in the Women’s Singles. It would be recalled that Gioia also upset Simmonds Chanel of South Africa, who is Number 3 seed in the second round of the tournament.
Seed Number 6, Naomi Broady of Great Britain completed the day of upset, beating Number 4 seed, Cristina Dinu of Romania 7-6, 1-6, and 6-4. The other results of the games concluded are; Ante Pavic of Croatia beat first leg winner Borna Coric 7-5 ,7-6 in the Men’s Singles, top seed Japanese Hiroki Kondo defeated Ruan Roelofse of South Africa 7-6 (3), 6-3, while Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan of India beat Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan of India 7-6, 7-5.
In the Women’s Singles, Nina Bratchikova of Russia beat Indian Prarthana Thombare 6-0, 6-4.
Meanwhile, the Group Director of FCMB, Femi Odusanya has reiterated FCMB’s continued support for the championship. He made the disclosure when the players paid the bank a courtesy visit this week.
He said the bank will lilke to see Nigerian players competitng against the foreigners in major tournaments, saying “this will further encourage our sponsorship of the Governor’s Cup”.

Pin It