Glo/CAF Award: Mikel Battles Toure, Drogba

Nigeria midfielder, John Obi Mikel, has been named among the final three shortlists for the 2013 African Footballer of the Year.
CAF announced that current African Footballer of the Year, Yaya Toure will be battled for the biggest individual football prize on the continent by his countryman, Didier Drogba and Chelsea star, Mikel.
“The Ivorian pair of Yaya Toure and Didier Drogba made the final three for a second successive year, and will be joined by Mikel of Nigeria. The winner will be announced on 9 January 2014 at the GLO-CAF Awards Gala to be held in Lagos Nigeria”, CAF announced on its official website on the eve of New Year’s Day.
However, Mikel is not the only Nigerian in the running for an individual honour, as 2013 Africa Cup of Nations hero, Sunday Mba, is also in the race to bag the African Footballer of the Year for players based in Africa. Mba faces two big hurdles in Egyptian duo, Ahmed Fathy and Mohamed Abou Trika.

Pin It