Gianni Merlo, Michel Obi Return As AIPS Presidents

.The new AIPS Executives. –

AIPS President Gianni Merlo has been re-elected for another term while Nigeria’s veteran journalist Mitchel Obi also returned as AIPS Africa President on the final day of the 80th AIPS Congress held in Korea.

According to a Press Release by AIPS, Merlo and Michel Obi returned to their positions during the elections held for the new four year term of the Executive Committee from 2017-2021.

It would be Merlo’s fourth term, having run for the position of President unopposed.

Esat Yilmaer from Turkey was re-elected for the position of first Vice President, while Jura Ozmec from Croatia was elected unopposed to take over the position of AIPS Treasurer from Austria’s Michael Kuhn.

Below is the list of the newly elected AIPS Executive Committee:

President: Gianni Merlo (Italy)

First Vice President: Esat Yilmaer (Turkey)

Treasurer: Jura Ozmec (Croatia)
Vice Presidents: Evelyn Watta (Kenya), Nikolai Dologopolov (Russia), Ioannis Daras (Greece), Hiji Al Mohammed (Qatar), AIPS Africa President Mitchel Obi (Nigeria), AIPS America President Gabriel Cazenave (Paraguay), AIPS Europe President Charles Camnezuli (Malta)

Seyed Abdolhamid Ahmadi (Iran), Zsuzsa Csisztu (Hungary), Vicente Dattoli (Brazil), Emanuel Fantaneanu (Romania), Hee Don Jung (Korea), Ahmadi Kawari Isa (Malaysia), Josef Langer (Austria), Amjad Amzaz Malik (Pakistan), Morad Moutaouakkil (Morocco), Juan Antonio Prieto (Spain), Jean Paul Savart (France), Hiroshi Takeuchi (Japan), Joze Zidar (Slovenia).

Pin It