Garba Names Awoniyi, Iheanacho, 19 Others For U-20 World Cup

Flying Eagles’ Head Coach Manu Garba (OON) has released a list of 21 players who will wear the nation’s colours at this year’s FIFA U-20 World Cup finals in New Zealand.
Skipper Musa Muhammed, who led the U-17 squad that won for Nigeria a record fourth FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates in 2013, is joined by fans’ favourite Taiwo Awoniyi, 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup MVP Kelechi Iheanacho, Spain–based Success Isaac and Enyimba FC’s midfield impressario Kingsley Sokari.
Garba has also included nimble-footed Musa Yahaya, defence stalwarts Wilfred Ndidi and Izu Omego, and the exciting Belgium–based forward Moses Simon.
Attack-minded defender Chidiebere Nwakali, who shone at the U-17 World Cup, as well as midfield lubricator Akinjide Idowu and inspiring goalkeeper Joshua Enaholo are also going to New Zealand.
African champion Nigeria will play her first match against Brazil in New Plymouth on the first day of June, before other Group E games against North Korea and Hungary in the same city.
Nigeria won silver medals at the U-20 World Cup in 1989 and 2005, but the Nigeria Football Federation believes the current squad has the ability to go all the way and welcome the incoming Government of General Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR) with a major trophy.

Full List Of Players:
Goalkeepers: Joshua Enaholo (MFM FC); Dele Alampasu (Football College Academy); Olorunleke Ojo (Giwa FC),

Defenders: Musa Muhammed (FC Heart Academy); Mustapha Abdullahi (Spotlight FC); Zaharaddeen Bello (Dabo Babes Academy); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Izu Omego (Apapa Golden Stars); Chidiebere Nwakali (Manchester City, England),

Midfielders: Akinjide Idowu (Nigeria Young Academy); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Water FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC); Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Musa Yahaya (Tottenham FC, England); Bernard Bulbwa (Esperance ST, Tunisia); Godwin Saviour (FC Sports),

Forwards: Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy); Chidera Ezeh (FC Porto, Portugal); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Success Isaac (Granada FC, Spain).

Pin It