Fashola, Nigige, Others Confirmed As Nigeria Ministers

The Senate on Wednesday, confirmed the nomination of former Lagos Governor Babatunde Fashola, former Ekiti Governor, Kayode Fayemi, Chris Ngige (Anambra) and 15 others as ministers.

Other nominees whose appointments were confirmed are Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom), Ogbonaya Onu (Ebonyi), Audu Ogbe (Benue), Osagie Ehanire (Edo) and Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano).

Also confirmed as ministers were Ibe Kachikwu (Delta), Lai Mohammed (Kwara), Amina Ibrahim Mohammed (Gombe), Suleiman Mohamed (Jigawa) and Usman Jubril (Nasarawa).

Others are Abubakar Malami (Kebbi), Aisha Alhassan (Taraba), Solomon Dalong (Plateau), Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) and Hadi Sirika (Katsina).

This brings the number of ministers waiting to be sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari to 18. Although the Senate screened the nominees with specific portfolio, the portfolios of the new ministers will be officially made public when they are sworn in by President Buhari.

The President of the Senate in his remarks, commended all the senators for their quality questions and contributions in the course of the screening.

He congratulated the confirmed ministers but urged them to hold up their own end of the bargain.

“It is not going to be business as usual because we are going to hold them to their words and to their promises,” he said.

The Senate, thereafter, adjourned plenary to Thursday for continuation of screening of outstanding ministerial nominees.

Pin It