Falcons Know AWC Foes 19 July

The draw for 9th African Women’s Championship will take place in the Namibian capital, Windhoek, on Saturday, 19 July 2014 at (18h00 GMT).
The event, the biggest footballing event to be staged in the Southern African country in recent times, will be graced by the crème de la crème of personalities from all sectors of the economy.
Namibian Prime Minister, Dr. Hage Geingob will be the Special Guest of Honour for the ceremony that will set the tone for the commencement of the ninth edition of the continent’s showpiece women’s football tournament.
The draw will be conducted CAF Deputy General Secretary, Essam Ahmed, to be assisted Dr. Geingob and Julien Garises, one of the pioneers of women’s football in Namibia.
Also in attendance will be Dr Molefi Oliphant, President of CAF Women’s Football Committee; members of the Local Organising Committee for the Namibia 2014 African Women’s Championship, Namibia Football Association as well as stakeholders of Namibian football.
Officials of the qualified teams are also expected to add colour and splendour with their presence.
The qualified teams are Namibia (Hosts), Algeria, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia.

Below is the procedure for the draw;
A1 is the host country: NAMIBIA

B1 shall comprise of the cup holder, Equatorial Guinea, who did not qualify for the Final Tournament) or the team having obtained the best ranking in the previous tournament: SOUTH AFRICA

The 6 remaining teams (ALGERIA, CAMEROON, CÔTE D’IVOIRE, GHANA, NIGERIA AND ZAMBIA) are all seeded in the 2nd level in one bowl containing 6 balls.
The seeded teams are Namibia (AI) and South Africa (BI).

Pin It