Eagles To Play Cote d’Ivoire, Mali

Nigeria Football Federation, NFF has secured two international friendly matches for the Super Eagles, who will not be part of next year’s Africa Cup of Nations finals.

NFF General Secretary, Barrister Musa Amadu, confirmed on Wednesday that the home-based Eagles will confront two teams that Nigeria’s Eagles Team A battered on the way to a third African title in South Africa early last year, in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates in January 2015.

The Eagles will confront 1992 African champions Cote d’Ivoire, whom Nigeria edged 2-1 in the quarter finals in South Africa, on 9 January, and take on fellow Eagles of Mali, who were overhauled 4-1 by the Nigerians in the semi finals in South Africa, four days later.

“We are working round the clock to make sure that the Eagles will have opponents for all the FIFA windows available in year 2015, and we are happy that the two games with the Ivorians and the Malians are sealed.

“The Elephants and the Les Aiglons are on their way to the 30th Africa Cup of Nations in Equatorial Guinea, so they are sure to give our team good games.”

Already, Assistant Coach Daniel Amokachi has drawn a list of 24 players who will do battle for shirts for the two matches.

Gombe United goalkeeper Chigozie Agbim leads the invitees, with Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kwambe Solomon, Umar Zango, Rabiu Ali, Emem Eduok, Kingsley Sokari, Mfon Udoh, Gbolahan Salami and Gambo Muhammad also called.

The players are expected to report at the Bolton White Apartments, Abuja on Sunday, 28 December with their international passports and four passport photographs.

The full list of players invited;

Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United); Daniel Akpeyi (Warri Wolves); Theophilus Afelokhai (Kano Pillars)

Defenders: Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Idris Aloma (El-Kanemi FC); Chimma Akas (Sharks FC); Nelson Ogbonna (Heartland FC); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Erhun Obanor (Bendel Insurance); Bright Esieme (Enyimba FC); Umar Zango (Kano Pillars)

Midfielders: Ammel Angel Wilfred (Kogi United); Joseph Nathaniel (Sharks FC); Charles Henlong (Giwa FC); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Chinedu Udeaga (Enugu Rangers); Emem Eduok (Dolphins FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC)

Forwards: Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves); Osaguona Christian (Enugu Rangers); Gambo Muhammad (Kano Pillars); Christian Obiozor (Enugu Rangers.

Pin It