Eagles To Battle Egypt, Chad, Tanzania For 2017 AFCON Ticket

Nigeria’s Super Eagles will battle the Pharaohs of Egypt, Chad and Tanzania in Group G of the qualifying series to book a place at the 2017 African Cup of Nations, AFCON slated for Gabon in 2017.
While Chad and Tanzania may not be push overs, Egypt will be a hard nut to crack for the Super Eagles, as they open the qualifying campaign by mid-June at home against Chad.
Egypt have won the tournament a record seven times, but they have failed to qualify for the last three editions.
They have clashed with Nigeria 17 times at full international level with the Pharaohs winning six and drawing six of these meetings. Egypt beat the Eagles 3-2 in their last clash in April 2012.
The eventual group leaders are guaranteed automatic qualification for Gabon. Meanwhile, below are the full Draw held in Cairo on Tuesday.

Group A
Tunisia, Togo, Liberia, Djibouti

Group B
DR Congo, Angola, Central Africa Republic, Madagascar

Group C
Mali, Equatorial Guinea, Benin, South Sudan

Group D
Burkina Faso, Uganda, Botswana, Comoros

Group E
Zambia, Congo, Kenya, Guinea Bissau

Group F
Cape Verde, Morocco, Libya, Sao Tome

Group G
Nigeria, Egypt, Tanzania, Chad

Group H
Ghana, Mozambique, Rwanda, Mauritius

Group I
Cote d’Ivoire, Sudan, Sierra Leone, Gabon

Group J
Algeria, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Seychelles

Group K
Senegal, Niger, Nambia, Burundi

Group L
Guinea, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Swaziland

Group M
Cameroon, South Africa, Gambia, Mauritania

Pin It