Drama As Saraki Is Sworn In As Senate President

There was an interesting drama in the selection of the leadership of the National Assembly on Tuesday, as 57 Senators nominated and endorsed Senator Bukola Saraki, a three-term senator from Kwara state as the President of the Senate.

Saraki was sworn in at the session which took a new twist as 57 out of the 108 inaugurated the 8th National Assembly with the reading of the proclamation letter from President Muhammadu Buhari by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Alhaji Salisu Maikasua.

Out of the 57 senators present, 49 are of the PDP, as only 55 senators are required  to choose a senate president.

The APC leadership who had called for the postponement of the inauguration of the 8th assembly are stunned by this development.

Details later.

Pin It