Dolphins Sack Babayaro, Ojabu, Retain 23

The management of Dolphins Football Club of Port Harcourt has dropped about 12 key players who starred for the team last season.
Top on the list of biggest names that will be missing on the roster of the team for the next season is Victor Babayaro who has been with Dolphins since 2005.
Babayaro, it was gathered was sent packing with another star player, Omo Ojabu, while Dolphins retained 23 out of the 35 players registered by the team for last season.
Media Officer of Dolphins, China Acheru told that Babyaro played 291 times for the club in all competitions during his time and was hoping to hit the 300 appearances mark for the team. “But, unfortunately, he was said to be surplus to requirements by the coaches”.
Acheru further hinted that Dolphins have kept faith with players such as Fred Okwara and Ifeanyi Egwim, the joint top scorers for the club in the league last season.
“The Stanley Eguma-led coaching crew decided to retain 23 of the 35 players registered by the team for last season’s campaign.
Top of the list of retained players are Fred Okwara and Ifeanyi Egwim while the team’s captain and longest serving player, Sunday Rotimi also has another season to play”.
Rotimi joined Dolphins from Sunshine Stars in 2004 and has remained with the club since then, save one season in 2005 when he had a stint in Israel.
Emem Eduok, Isiaka Olawale, Omo Johnson and Naseem Abutreika were also on the list of the players retained for the new league season.
“Emeka Atuloma who joined up in 2009 also stays back as well as Olewezi Johnson and Derek Amadi”.
The Other players retained by Dolphins are 17-year old Daniel Israel, Festus Austin, Victor Ezuruike, Baker Ebimaowei, Joseph DaoHadji, Chizoba Amaefule, Chidiebere Okolie, Hassan Hussein and Austin Brown. Osaro Nwafor, Monday Finma and Eze Chidiebere.

Pin It