Danagogo Salutes Nigeria’s Exploits At Africa Scrabble Tourney

Nigeria’s Minister of Sports Tammy Danagogo has expressed satisfaction with the capacity of the Scrabble Federation of Nigeria in carting nine out of ten cups lined for the Africa Scrabble Championship held in Cape Town, South Africa.

Danagogo made this remark when he received the victories scrabble players and technical crew in Abuja led by the Federation’s President, Suleiman Gora.

The Minister who was represented by the Director General, National Sports Commission, Gbenga Elegbeleye said “to me, it is a very big achievement for Nigeria winning nine out of the available ten slots in the championship. It shows commitment, dedication and a plus to the transformation agenda of Mr. President and also sports development.”

He used the opportunity of the reception to advise other sports federations to key into the successes recorded by the Super Falcons and the Scrabble Federation to make the nation proud and win more medals, stating “continue winning in all facets of sports and I can assure you that the support will not stop.”

Danagogo urged the Federation to intensify more efforts and achieve their target of becoming number one in the World Scrabble Championship slated for London in November 2014, having successfully emerged as the continental champion. He advised them to see the continental championship as platform towards making their impact felt at the global tournament.

Presenting the trophies won at the African Scrabble tournament in Cape Town, South Africa to the Minister, the President, Scrabble Federation of Nigeria gave a briefing on the team’s achievements and explained that the secret behind the teams successful outing was because players were adequately camped in Abuja where proper psychological mentorship was impacted on them by the coaching crew led by Tony Kolo.

He commended the National Sports Commission and extended his appreciation to the media for their supports.

Winner of 2014 African Scrabble Championship is Nsikak Etim Solomon who was automatically enrolled for the World Scrabble Championship by the organisers of the global event.

Pin It