CAF Snubs Nigerian Refs, Picks 23 For U-23 AFCON

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, does not see any Nigerian referee suitable to officiate at the U-23 Africa Cup of Nations slated to begin in Senegal on 28 November, 2015, reports.

It was discovered that CAF did not pick a single Nigerian referee when it selected 10 Centre Referees and 13 Assistant Referees to supervise matches during the tournament from 28 November through 12 December 2015. gathered that Centre Referees such as Redouane Jiyed from Morocco, Zio Juste Ephrem from Burkina Faso, Joshua Bondo from Botswana, Mehdi Abid Charef from Algeria and Hudu Munyemana from Rwanda made the cut.

This is not the first time that CAF and World soccer governing body, FIFA will leave out Nigerian Referees from international engagements.

Interestingly, Nigeria’s U-23 Eagles led by Coach Samson Siasia, who are already training in Senegal, will feature in the tournament but they won’t see any of their compatriots running the centre or sidelines during the championship.

Siasia and his boys will tango with Algeria, Egypt and Mali in Group B while hosts Senegal will do battle with South Africa, Tunisia and Zambia in Group A.

Matches will be held in two cities namely Dakar and M’Bour for the tournament that will see the top three teams qualifying to represent Africa at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Full List Of Referees Listed For The Tournament:
Centre Referees
1 Redouane Jiyed (Morocco)
2 Zio Juste Ephrem (Burkina Faso)
3 Joshua Bondo (Botswana)
4 Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)
5 Hudu Munyemana (Rwanda)
6 Antoine Max Depadoux Effa Essouma (Cameroon)
7 Nampiandra Hamada (Madagascar)
8 Sinko Bienvenu Cote d’Ivoire
9 Diedhiou Malang (Senegal)
10 Youssef Essrayri (Tunisia)

Assistant Referees:
1 Jerson dos Santos Angola
2 Arsenio Marengula Mozambique
3 Eldrick Adelaide Seychelles
4 Drissa Kamory Niare Mali
5 Berhe O. Michael Eritrea
6 Yahaya Mahamadou Niger
7 Mark Sonko Uganda
8 Samba Malik Senegal
9 Elmoiz Ali Mohamed Ahmed Sudan
10 Mahmoud Ahmed Abo el Regal Egypt
11 Issa Yaya Chad
12 Oliver Safari DR Congo
13 Sidiki Sidibe Guinea.

Pin It