Adebiyi Battles Egwin & Ajia For NPL Wonder Goal Award

Enyimba’s Rasheed Olabiyi, Ifeanyi Egwim of Dolphins and Emmanuel Ajia of El-Kanemi Warriors are in the running for the 4th Wonder Goal Award of the Glo Premier League.
The nominees were announced in the League Management Company (LMC) website, with fans urged to vote for any of the players whose goal is considered the most spectacular.
The LMC had at the inaugural edition of the Wonder Goal scheme stated that it was instituted to reach out to fans and enhance engagement between the Clubs, the fans and the communities.
“The Wonder Goal also seeks to reward marksmanship of the highest quality in the Glo Premier League, as it was instituted to celebrate eye-catching and brilliant goals as well as the collective effort that resulted in the superb finish,” the LMC stated on the website Wonder Goal page on its website.
Ajia of El-Kanemi was nominated for his goal on Match Day 6 against his former club, Lobi Stars on April 13. It was a clinical finish which saw him shake off a marker from outside the box and fired to the top left of the post for his side in the 2-0 victory.
Ifeanyi Egwim’s goal in a 2-0 win on Match Day 23 earned him the nomination. Egwim raced through from the center to pick up a pass that set him clear to lob above the on-rushing Crown goalkeeper. The match was played on August 13.
The third nominee, Enyimba’s Olabiyi is up for voting courtesy of his goal in the Oriental Derby between Abia Warriors and his club on August 17.
It was a Match Day 24 fixture which saw the midfielder firing a blinder from 25 yards that got Enyimba back into the game a second time.
Voting ended by 11.59pm on Saturday, 4 October and the player whose goal attracts the highest number of goals will receive the prize money of N100, 000 from which 50% will be donated to a Charity of his choice within the city where the club is based.

Pin It