2015 AFCON Draw Holds Sunday

Reports from CAF say the draw for the Final Round of Qualifiers of the Orange Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2015 will take place at its Headquarters in Cairo on Sunday 27 April, from 12:30hours GMT.
According to CAF, the Orange Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers Morocco 2015 will be made up of seven groups of four teams who contest home and away fixtures.
“The seven group winners, seven group runners-up and the best third-placed side will qualify directly for the final tournament. Host Morocco is automatically qualified”, CAF said on Saturday.
“Under the draw procedure, 28 teams will be divided into 4 groups, each pot containing 7 teams based on the CAF classification”.

Below are details of the draw:

Pot 1: Nigeria, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Mali, Tunisia
Pot 2: Algeria, Angola, Cap Verde, Togo, Egypt, South Africa, Cameroun
Pot 3: RD Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Niger, Guinea, Senegal, Soudan
Pot 4: The Seven yet to be decided by the preliminary round matches
(Teams in the same pot cannot be paired against each other).

Matches to decide the final 7 for Pot 4
A total of 28 teams will be divided into two pots each containing 14 teams based on CAF classification.
The 14 teams of the Level 1 namely Libya, Equatorial Guinea, Botswana, Malawi, Uganda, Mozambique, Benin, Sierra Leone, Congo, Central Africa Republic, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Liberia and Gambia will be in Pot A.
The 14 teams of Level 2 namely Rwanda, Tanzania, Namibia, Burundi, Lesotho, Guinea Bissau, Madagascar, Chad, Sao Tome, Seychelles, Comoros, Swaziland, South Sudan and Mauritania will be in Pot B.

Pot C will be empty.

Step 1: A draw made to pick one team from Pot A
Step 2: A draw made to pick one team from Pot B, the team drawn from Pot A will against the team drawn from Pot B
Step 3: The two picked balls from step 1 and 2 will be placed together in Pot C and the first one picked will play the 1st match at home.
This operation will be repeated 14 times to determine the 28 matches.

The 14 winners will play against each other to determine the final seven who will go into the final draw (the forth pot of 7 teams).

How to follow and watch the draw LIVE
You can follow the Orange Africa Cup of Nations– Morocco 2015 Preliminaries Draw on Sunday 27 April at 12h30 GMT and the Orange Inter-clubs competitions draw on Tuesday 29 April at 09h00 GMT LIVE on CAF’s digital platforms; on Twitter via @CAF_Media and Orange #AFCON2015 as well as CAF TV channel on YouTube.

Seeded Teams
Seven of the teams going into the draw to be placed who will be placed in Pot 1 are seeded. These are: Nigeria, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Mali and Tunisia

The Final Tournament
CAN Morocco 2015
The final tournament of the Orange Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2015 will be played from 17th January through 8th February 2015.
The Opening Ceremony in Marrakech will only have one fixture – the Opening Match of Group A. The second fixture of Group A will be played on 18th January which will also have two matches of Group B.

Pin It