Salah, Oshoala Emerge Best Players At Aiteo CAF Awards

Egypt and Liverpool ace Mohamed Salah took the gong for the men’s Africa Player of The Year title at Thursday’s Aiteo CAF Awards held in Accra, Ghana.

Salah took the title ahead of Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang) while Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala emerged female Africa Player of The Year.

Super Eagles’ coach Gernot Rohr lost the Coach of the Year crown to Hector Cuper (Coach of Egypt), and Egypt’s Pharaohs (runner-up of the AFCON and returning to the FIFA World Cup after 28 years) took the National Team of the Year ahead of the Super Eagles. Nigeria’s Junior Ajayi made Africa’s Finest XI.
Salah said: “For me, this is a dream come true. I genuinely cherish this award, and I dedicate it to all the young people of Egypt and the whole of Africa. My message to them is that they should never stop dreaming, and they should never stop believing in themselves.”
Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah
Woman Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala
Youth Player of the Year: Patson Daka
Coach of the Year: Hector Cuper
National Team of the Year: Egypt
Women’s National Team of the Year: South Africa
Club of the Year: Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
African Legend Award: Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)
Football Leader of the Year: Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)
Special Recognition Award: George Oppong Weah (Liberia)
Platinum Award: President Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo-Addo (Ghana).

Pin It