Buhari Orders Total Shutdown Of Abuja, Lagos And Ogun States

President Muhammadu Buhari has a 14 days total shutdown of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja, Lagos State and Ogun State, saying it’s a measure to stem down the spread of the dreaded Coronavirus in Nigeria.

Buhari, who addressed Nigerians on Sunday night, said: “Based on the advice of the Federal Ministry of Health and the NCDC, I am directing the cessation of all movements in Lagos and the FCT for an initial period of 14 days with effect from 11pm on Monday, 30th March 2020. This restriction will also apply to Ogun State due to its close proximity to Lagos and the high traffic between the two States.

“All citizens in these areas are to stay in their homes. Travel to or from other states should be postponed. All businesses and offices within these locations should be fully closed during this period.

“The Governors of Lagos and Ogun States as well as the Minister of the FCT have been notified. Furthermore, heads of security and intelligence agencies have also been briefed”.

Pin It